San Miguel beats Ginebra in Game 5, completes Philippine Cup 3-peat

The San Miguel Beermen won their third straight All-Filipino title, beating Barangay Ginebra San Miguel 91-85 in Game 5 of 2017 PBA Philippine Cup Finals to end the series at 4-1 on Sunday, March 5.

The San Miguel didn't just win the most prestigious title of the season, they also won the Perpetual Trophy after three straight All-Filipino championship.

Behind 12 points, 10 assists, eight rebounds, and six steals effort from Chris Ross and eventual Finals MVP, the Beermen became the second team, aside from Talk 'N Text, in PBA history to win at least three straight PBA Philippine Cup title.

Best Player of the Conference June Mar Fajardo and Arwind Santos posted 21 points apiece to lead the Beermen in scoring. Alex Cabagnot added 18.

San Miguel clinched its fourth championship in the last seven conferences led by head coach Leo Austria.

The Ginebra played gallantly, trying to salvage some respect in a series that turned out to be a mismatch.

Japeth Aguilar led Ginebra in Game 5 with game-high 26 points and 16 rebounds. Sol Mercado and Joe Devance both added 20.

The Scores:

SAN MIGUEL 91 - Fajardo 21, Santos 21, Cabagnot 18, Lassiter 12, Ross 12, Espinas 4, Tubid 3, De Ocampo 0.

GINEBRA 85 - Aguilar 26, Devance 20, Mercado 20, Tenorio 10, Marcelo 4, Thompson 3, Caguioa 2, Ferrer 0.

Quarter scores: 27-21; 51-41; 63-61; 91-85 | Games Stats.